September meeting

Our meeting in September is on Thursday 1st. Our speaker is textile artist and quilt designer Lesley Brankin and her talk is entitled ‘One thing leads to another’.

On her website Lesley says –

“I am a freelance needlecraft designer and textile artist lucky enough to be living and working in the beautiful surroundings of the Malvern Hills. Although much of my recent work is contemporary by nature and explores the use of painting and printing techniques I still find myself compelled to make the occasional precisely pieced foundation quilt (both large and miniature).

I am often asked what materials I use for my painted quilts, and because many are featured in my Gallery, I thought I would answer this question here. I often begin by printing (monotype or block printing) motifs or general textures using standard artists acrylics (adding textile medium for larger pieces) and then whilst the paint is still wet I ‘flood’ the background with diluted silk paints or fluid acrylics/inks. The interaction of the two different ‘paints’ results in the wonderful watercolour like effects that many of my quilts exhibit – you just have to go ‘with the flow’.”

One quilt featured in the gallery of photos on her website has local resonance. Made as a challenge piece for the Quilts in the Garden Show at Trentham Gardens in 2006 it won 1st place in the Special Category. Entitled ‘Awakening’, the design was inspired by the restoration of the gardens.

awakening-500x500

Follow the link to Lesley’s website to find out more about her work and to see more photos. But, better yet, come to the September meeting to hear about and see the quilts in detail.

Leave a Reply

